
Manly fan favourite Jazz Tevaga off to Super League after knocking back new contract to stay
AAP understands that Tevaga has signed a two-year deal with Trinity, after knocking back the option to stay with the Sea Eagles.
Picked up from the Warriors at the end of last year, Tevaga has proven a good purchase for the Sea Eagles while filling in at hooker and impressing at lock.
He has played his best football in the past two months, wearing the No.13 jersey while Jake Trbojevic had two spells out with concussion.
That form came despite the 29-year-old revealing to AAP this month he had been playing through the pain of a fractured rib.
The Sea Eagles had recently opened talks with Tevaga around a one-year extension to stay at the club beyond the end of this season.
Manly officials believed the former Warrior brought with him a toughness to the club's pack and culture, and had been keen to keep him at Brookvale.
But it's understood Trinity were able to offer more money than the Sea Eagles, while also handing Tevaga the security of a two-year deal.
Tevaga will start at hooker for Manly on Friday night, after the club's long-term No.9 Lachlan Croker was dropped to reserve grade.
'(I prefer) 13, but I have no qualms with starting the game at No.9 and taking the brunt out of the game for whoever is on the bench to come on,' Tevaga told reporters this week.
'When I play No.9, I have to save a bit in the tank because you have to follow the ball around, make right decisions and your passing accuracy has to be on point.
'When I am at lock I can take a spell here and there and invest more energy in my defence.'

Try Our AI Features
Explore what Daily8 AI can do for you:
Comments
No comments yet...
Related Articles

Sydney Morning Herald
18 hours ago
- Sydney Morning Herald
Storm enforcer Asofa-Solomona banned for elbow to rival's head
Loading Storm enforcer Nelson Asofa-Solomona is facing a three-game ban for elbowing after being issued his fifth charge in the past two seasons. Asofa-Solomona was issued a 2-3 game suspension pending his plea after he elbowed Manly's Jake Simpkin in the head while trying to earn a quick play-the-ball on Saturday night. Melbourne's try to Harry Grant from the subsequent play was disallowed because of Asofa-Solomona's foul play, a decision that proved critical in the Sea Eagles 18-16 upset win. Unless Asofa-Solomona successfully appeals his grade 2 dangerous contact charge at the judiciary, he will now miss Thursday's clash with the Roosters and a trip to face the Eels at Commbank Stadium in round 22. An unsuccessful judiciary challenge would also rule the Kiwi star out of the following clash against Brisbane.

The Age
18 hours ago
- The Age
Storm enforcer Asofa-Solomona banned for elbow to rival's head
Loading Storm enforcer Nelson Asofa-Solomona is facing a three-game ban for elbowing after being issued his fifth charge in the past two seasons. Asofa-Solomona was issued a 2-3 game suspension pending his plea after he elbowed Manly's Jake Simpkin in the head while trying to earn a quick play-the-ball on Saturday night. Melbourne's try to Harry Grant from the subsequent play was disallowed because of Asofa-Solomona's foul play, a decision that proved critical in the Sea Eagles 18-16 upset win. Unless Asofa-Solomona successfully appeals his grade 2 dangerous contact charge at the judiciary, he will now miss Thursday's clash with the Roosters and a trip to face the Eels at Commbank Stadium in round 22. An unsuccessful judiciary challenge would also rule the Kiwi star out of the following clash against Brisbane.

Courier-Mail
19 hours ago
- Courier-Mail
‘Ain't going to say it': Bellamy silent as Cronk calls out ugly act
Don't miss out on the headlines from NRL. Followed categories will be added to My News. Nelson Asofa-Solomona could consider himself lucky to have stayed on the field after an elbow from the Storm prop saw a Melbourne try rubbed off the board and Manly hooker Jake Simpkin ruled out of Saturday's game. The Storm looked to have hit back after Manly scored three consecutive tries to take a 16-6 lead, with Harry Grant taking on the line off a quick play-the-ball and slicing through. But replays later showed Asofa-Solomona elbowing Simpkin in the head as he fought to play the ball and the Bunker subsequently intervened, with the try taken off the board. FOX LEAGUE, available on Kayo Sports, is the only place to watch every game of every round in the 2025 NRL Telstra Premiership, LIVE with no ad-breaks during play. New to Kayo? Get your first month for just $1. Limited-time offer > It ended up also being a costly moment for Manly as Simpkin was later ruled to be displaying Category 1 concussion symptoms and was subsequently ruled out for the game. Asofa-Solomona may have been lucky to not spend time in the sin bin for his actions and could come under scrutiny from the NRL's match review committee. Storm coach Craig Bellamy was questioned on the incident in his post-game press conference but was keeping his mouth shut. 'I've got an opinion but I ain't going to say it,' he said. Former Storm halfback Cooper Cronk, however, was more than happy to give his take. 'The game needs to sort out that Simpkin goes off but Nelson continues to stay on the field and plays a role in that team,' Cronk said X Learn More SUBSCRIBER ONLY 'The game needs to sort that out big time. I think there are a couple of options the game really needs to sit down and think about because Manly cannot be disadvantaged in that situation and Melbourne get a one-up. I think he's in some trouble.' Meanwhile, Fox League's Eloise Sohier later reported that the Sea Eagles and coach Anthony Seibold were 'blowing up' over that ruling, believing that it should have been a Category 2 and that Simpkin was fine to play on. X Learn More SUBSCRIBER ONLY Seibold confirmed that Manly's testing deemed Simpkin was showing Category 2 symptoms and that they may consider challenging the ruling. 'It was disappointing, but we lost Jake for the game, so it was category one from the bunker but from our testing it was category two,' Seibold said. 'Jake does have a mark on his face and Nelson is a big man so he copped a fair elbow from Nelson, so he stayed down because of that bit he wasn't concussed. We don't believe it was category one but we lost him for the night so we were down to three players on the interchange bench. X Learn More SUBSCRIBER ONLY 'We will lose him for 11 days but we might challenge that because our doctor considers it a category two, so if that is the case tomorrow with the follow-up protocols then we might put a case that it was category two.' Originally published as 'Ain't going to say it': Bellamy silent as Cronk calls out ugly act