
Ex-India Star Slams Ben Stokes Captaincy Hype: 'Have I Missed Any Masterstroke?'
Former India star Mohammad Kaif believes Ben Stokes has been overhyped as England's Test captain. He listed what he felt were Stokes' errors in the Edgbaston Test of the Anderson-Tendulkar Trophy on social media, asking his followers to 'inform' him of any 'hidden master strokes' that make him this popular.
Several pundits have labeled Stokes as one of the best captains in English history. Though he hasn't led them close to a World Test Championship title, while also failing to correct historical deficiencies in India and Australia, his aggressive style of leadership is considered revolutionary. Statistically, he has a win percentage of 60, the best for any captain of the country who led in more than 10 matches.
'I have never understood the hype around Ben Stokes the captain," Kaif wrote on X. 'On a flat track with sun shining he decides to bowl, today with some life in pitch edges flying but no extra slip. Batsmen took England to win in first Test but Stokes didn't score many. Please inform if I have missed any of his hidden leadership master stroke."
Stokes' form with the bat has been questionable. He scored 20 and 33 at Headingley in the first Test and got out for a golden duck at Edgbaston in the second. However, he has tried to make up for some of it with the ball, taking five wickets in the first Test and another at Edgbaston.
England are in a precarious situation in the second Test ahead of the fifth day at 72/3 in the chase of 608. Stokes will want to come good with the bat with his ability to hold fort because a win looks far from likely. If he can help the team hold on, it'll just be the second draw under his leadership — no other England captain with more than 10 Tests at the helm saw fewer than two draws.
The first and only draw under him was also a forced one — the rain-washed game at Old Trafford in Ashes 2023. Rain is said to be looming around Edgbaston, too, but is unlikely to cause significant loss of playing time.
About the Author
Cricketnext Staff
First Published:
July 06, 2025, 11:47 IST
Hashtags

Try Our AI Features
Explore what Daily8 AI can do for you:
Comments
No comments yet...
Related Articles


Mint
9 minutes ago
- Mint
IND vs ENG: CSK pacer Anshul Kamboj gets called up to Indian team in England as injury cover for Arshdeep Singh
Chennai Super Kings pacer Anshul Kamboj has been called up by the Indian team for the remaining two Test matches against England, as a cover for Arshdeep Singh, who is recovering from a hand injury, suffered during training. The left-arm pacer Arshdeep, who is yet to make his Test debut, was in line for a game in Manchester, starting July 23. However, an injury to his bowling hand while trying to stop a ball in his follow-through, jeopardised India's plans for the fourth Test. India are already trailing 1-2 in the Anderson-Tendulkar Trophy, having lost the first and third games. "Anshul has left for Manchester and will join the squad for the remaining two Test matches as a cover," a BCCI source was quoted as saying to In fact, a lot on the Indian playing XI for at Old Trafford depends on the severity of Arshdeep's injury. 'We'll take a call on the combination we play. Particularly given the Arshdeep situation as well, we'll make that call closer to Manchester,' India's assistant coach Ryan ten Doeschate has told media.


Time of India
17 minutes ago
- Time of India
Out or Not Out? Tammy Beaumont's close call vs India: What the rules say
Tammy Beaumont vs India (Image via X/Screengrab) Controversy unfolded at Lord's during the second Women's ODI between India and England, that tipped in the hosts' favour this time around following a win for India in the 1st. In the fifth over of England's innings, Deepti Sharma bowled a fuller delivery to Tammy Beaumont . The English opener drove it towards Jemimah Rodrigues at short midwicket. Rodrigues dove to her right, stopped the ball, and threw it back towards wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh. Beaumont, whocut short her run after opting against a quick single, was walking back to the crease. After placing her left foot inside the crease, with her right leg, she appeared to attempt kicking the ball away. Though she didn't make contact, it appeared that she had tried to stop the ball with her foot before it reached Ghosh. The visitors appealed without fail, gesturing to the umpires that Beaumont had tried to interfere with the throw. The umpires had a long discussion and opted for a review. After watching a few replays, the third umpire decided Beaumont was not out. However, according to the laws, there is no exemption that protects a batter from being given out for Obstructing the Field even if they are back inside the crease. The ball was still in play at the time, which is clear from the fact that it was moving towards the India wicketkeeper. by Taboola by Taboola Sponsored Links Sponsored Links Promoted Links Promoted Links You May Like An engineer reveals: One simple trick to get internet without a subscription Techno Mag Learn More Undo 37 OBSTRUCTING THE FIELD 37.1 Out Obstructing the field 37.1.1 Either batter is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of clause 37.2, and while the ball is in play, she wilfully attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding side by word or action. See also clause 34 (Hit the ball twice). 37.1.2 The striker is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of clause 37.2, in the act of receiving a ball delivered by the bowler, she wilfully strikes the ball with a hand not holding the bat. This will apply whether it is the first strike or a second or subsequent strike. The act of receiving the ball shall extend both to playing at the ball and to striking the ball more than once in defence of her wicket. 37.1.3 This clause will apply whether or not No ball is called. 37.1.4 For the avoidance of doubt, if an umpire feels that a batter, in running between the wickets, has significantly changed her direction without probable cause and thereby obstructed a fielder's attempt to effect a run out, the batter should, on appeal, be given out, obstructing the field. It shall not be relevant whether a run out would have occurred or not. If the change of direction involves the batter crossing the pitch, clause 41.14 shall also apply. Additionally, it has been mentioned in another clause that the batter will not be out if they Obstruct the field accidentally, to avoid injury or in the case of a second/subsequent strike made to guard the wicket lawfully (for a striker). However, the not out decision didn't hurt India much in terms of runs conceded, given that Beaumont was batting on 25 off 16 balls at the time and was later dismissed for 34 off 35 by Sneh Rana in the 11th over. Poll Should Tammy Beaumont have been given out for obstructing the field? Yes, she attempted to interfere with the throw. No, she was already inside the crease. England level series after rain-hit win In the match itself, England bounced back to win the second ODI by eight wickets in a rain-shortened game at Lord's. Chasing a revised target of 115, opener Amy Jones guided the hosts home with an unbeaten 46, helping them level the three-match series 1-1. India, who had successfully chased down 259 in the first ODI, struggled with the bat this time. They managed only 143/8 in the 29-overs-per-side match, with Smriti Mandhana top-scoring with 42. Catch Rani Rampal's inspiring story on Game On, Episode 4. Watch Here!


Time of India
26 minutes ago
- Time of India
Out or Not Out? Tammy Beaumont's controversial dismissal vs India: What the rules say
Tammy Beaumont vs India (Image via X/Screengrab) Controversy unfolded at Lord's during the second Women's ODI between India and England, that tipped in the hosts' favour this time around following a win for India in the 1st. In the fifth over of England's innings, Deepti Sharma bowled a fuller delivery to Tammy Beaumont . The English opener drove it towards Jemimah Rodrigues at short midwicket. Rodrigues dove to her right, stopped the ball, and threw it back towards wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh. Beaumont, whocut short her run after opting against a quick single, was walking back to the crease. After placing her left foot inside the crease, with her right leg, she appeared to attempt kicking the ball away. Though she didn't make contact, it appeared that she had tried to stop the ball with her foot before it reached Ghosh. The visitors appealed without fail, gesturing to the umpires that Beaumont had tried to interfere with the throw. The umpires had a long discussion and opted for a review. After watching a few replays, the third umpire decided Beaumont was not out. However, according to the laws, there is no exemption that protects a batter from being given out for Obstructing the Field even if they are back inside the crease. The ball was still in play at the time, which is clear from the fact that it was moving towards the India wicketkeeper. 37 OBSTRUCTING THE FIELD 37.1 Out Obstructing the field 37.1.1 Either batter is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of clause 37.2, and while the ball is in play, she wilfully attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding side by word or action. See also clause 34 (Hit the ball twice). 37.1.2 The striker is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of clause 37.2, in the act of receiving a ball delivered by the bowler, she wilfully strikes the ball with a hand not holding the bat. This will apply whether it is the first strike or a second or subsequent strike. The act of receiving the ball shall extend both to playing at the ball and to striking the ball more than once in defence of her wicket. 37.1.3 This clause will apply whether or not No ball is called. 37.1.4 For the avoidance of doubt, if an umpire feels that a batter, in running between the wickets, has significantly changed her direction without probable cause and thereby obstructed a fielder's attempt to effect a run out, the batter should, on appeal, be given out, obstructing the field. It shall not be relevant whether a run out would have occurred or not. If the change of direction involves the batter crossing the pitch, clause 41.14 shall also apply. Additionally, it has been mentioned in another clause that the batter will not be out if they Obstruct the field accidentally, to avoid injury or in the case of a second/subsequent strike made to guard the wicket lawfully (for a striker). However, the not out decision didn't hurt India much in terms of runs conceded, given that Beaumont was batting on 25 off 16 balls at the time and was later dismissed for 34 off 35 by Sneh Rana in the 11th over. Poll Should Tammy Beaumont have been given out for obstructing the field? Yes, she attempted to interfere with the throw. No, she was already inside the crease. England level series after rain-hit win In the match itself, England bounced back to win the second ODI by eight wickets in a rain-shortened game at Lord's. Chasing a revised target of 115, opener Amy Jones guided the hosts home with an unbeaten 46, helping them level the three-match series 1-1. India, who had successfully chased down 259 in the first ODI, struggled with the bat this time. They managed only 143/8 in the 29-overs-per-side match, with Smriti Mandhana top-scoring with 42. Catch Rani Rampal's inspiring story on Game On, Episode 4. Watch Here!