British and Irish Lions hooker Dan Sheehan cited for hit on Tom Lynagh
British and Irish Lions hooker Dan Sheehan has been cited for foul play over an incident in Saturday's third Test against Australia that left Wallabies' flyhalf Tom Lynagh knocked out.
The incident was briefly looked at by the match officials just before halftime but Sheehan initially escaped punishment even though replays showed he entered a ruck at speed and appeared to make dangerous contact with Lynagh's head.
The Australian playmaker was taken from the field to undergo a head injury assessment, which he failed, preventing him from rejoining the match, which the Wallabies won 22-12.
Sheehan's actions at the ruck were hotly debated on social media, with many incredulous that he was let off as Australian supporters argued he should have been given an instant red card.
Tom Lynagh was substituted off after being hit in the head. Picture: Getty Images
PREMIUM RUGBY CONTENT
READ: Schmidt reveals secret weapon in Wallabies' win over Lions
READ: Rugby can't allow Lions win to mask Wallabies' many issues
READ: Every player rated: Skelton and Tupou star, Suaalii stuns
An independent reviewer later looked back at the incident and World Rugby subsequently released a statement in the early hours of Sunday morning announcing Sheehan had been cited and would face an expedited hearing later that day.
'British & Irish Lions player Dan Sheehan will have a citing complaint reviewed by an independent Foul Play Review Committee (FPRC) after being cited by the independent citing commissioner Adrien Menez for an act of foul play contrary to Law 9.20 (a) (a player must not charge into a ruck or maul …) in the Australia v British & Irish Lions third test in Sydney on Saturday, 2 August,' World Rugby said in the statement.
Asked about the incident after the match, Lions coach Andy Farrell said he couldn't comment because he hadn't looked at it yet.
'There are all sorts of rugby incidents that we can pull apart. I've seen quite a few more incidents as well,' he said.
'We'll always go through the right channels when that's concerned.'
Wallabies coach Joe Schmidt was also tight-lipped after launching a blistering attack on the way officials deal with head knocks from collisions at rucks after the Television Match Official failed to penalise the Lions over another contentious clean-out that would have ruled out their series-winning try in the second Test in Melbourne.
But Schmidt was biting his tongue this time when asked about the hit on Lynagh, the talented young son of Wallabies great Michael Lynagh.
'In live, we didn't see Tom's incident, and it was probably a little bit later that we got a glimpse of it, and that's all I've seen so far,' Schmidt said.
Dan Sheehan has been cited for foul play. Picture: Getty Images
'So I'd rather not comment on it until I've seen it. But … You know, there's always a difficulty for a TMO, I guess. He's watching the main TV broadcast, and then if he doesn't pick it up there, then he doesn't' access the other angles because everything's happening so quickly.'
Schmidt did say that he didn't think there was any malice from the Irish hooker and also that he had checked in on Lynagh's health to ensure he was OK
'I've got massive respect for Dan,' Schmidt said.
'There's a few things like that that will happen in a really physical contest.
'For us with Tom, he is still a young kid and we'll try to look after him and make sure that he's fully fit on the back of getting that knock. But I had a good chat to him after the game and he's pretty resilient.'
Originally published as British and Irish Lions hooker Dan Sheehan cited for hit on Wallabies flyhalf Tom Lynagh
Hashtags

Try Our AI Features
Explore what Daily8 AI can do for you:
Comments
No comments yet...
Related Articles

Sydney Morning Herald
20 minutes ago
- Sydney Morning Herald
Skelton set for Rugby Championship return after Lions heroics
The original draft of the Giteau law prevented Skelton from representing the Wallabies in his prime years, given he hadn't played the required 60 Tests that were needed for selection at the time. However, a relaxation of eligibility rules allowed Skelton to end a five-year hiatus from international duty and play for the Wallabies on the Spring tour in 2021 against Scotland, England and Wales. In the last eight years he has played club rugby overseas, the second-rower has only represented the Wallabies in the Rugby Championship three times, starting against South Africa, Argentina and New Zealand in 2023. Traditionally, for Skelton to play for the Wallabies in the Rugby Championship, he has to return from France directly after playing in the gruelling Top 14 finals, where he has featured in five of his six seasons at La Rochelle. This season, La Rochelle missed out on the Top 14 playoffs for the first time in seven years, allowing the second-rower to return to Australia earlier than expected to prepare for the Lions series. In an interview with this masthead, Skelton previously said that he was likely to return to France after the Lions series, although the Wallaby also revealed he was set for discussions with Schmidt. Loading Under regulation nine of World Rugby on the availability of players, the Wallabies are entitled to ask for a squad member to be released from their northern hemisphere club for the duration of the Rugby Championship. The Wallabies will fly to South Africa on Saturday ahead of two Tests against South Africa in Johannesburg and Cape Town.

The Age
20 minutes ago
- The Age
Skelton set for Rugby Championship return after Lions heroics
The original draft of the Giteau law prevented Skelton from representing the Wallabies in his prime years, given he hadn't played the required 60 Tests that were needed for selection at the time. However, a relaxation of eligibility rules allowed Skelton to end a five-year hiatus from international duty and play for the Wallabies on the Spring tour in 2021 against Scotland, England and Wales. In the last eight years he has played club rugby overseas, the second-rower has only represented the Wallabies in the Rugby Championship three times, starting against South Africa, Argentina and New Zealand in 2023. Traditionally, for Skelton to play for the Wallabies in the Rugby Championship, he has to return from France directly after playing in the gruelling Top 14 finals, where he has featured in five of his six seasons at La Rochelle. This season, La Rochelle missed out on the Top 14 playoffs for the first time in seven years, allowing the second-rower to return to Australia earlier than expected to prepare for the Lions series. In an interview with this masthead, Skelton previously said that he was likely to return to France after the Lions series, although the Wallaby also revealed he was set for discussions with Schmidt. Loading Under regulation nine of World Rugby on the availability of players, the Wallabies are entitled to ask for a squad member to be released from their northern hemisphere club for the duration of the Rugby Championship. The Wallabies will fly to South Africa on Saturday ahead of two Tests against South Africa in Johannesburg and Cape Town.

ABC News
20 minutes ago
- ABC News
Port Adelaide great Travis Boak announces retirement from AFL
Port Adelaide great Travis Boak has announced he will retire at the end of the AFL season. A former captain of the club and three-time All-Australian, Boak sits seventh on the all-time V/AFL games list with 384. Drafted by the Power in 2006, Boak has played in the previous 19 AFL seasons, kicking 214 goals. Playing most of his career in the midfield, Boak was named an All-Australian in 2013, 2014 and 2020, and was runner-up in the 2020 Brownlow Medal. Boak was captain of the Power from 2013-2018. Boak debuted for the Power in 2007, playing 14 matches, including that year's grand final loss to Geelong. The Power has not made it to a grand final since 2007, but has played in four preliminary finals.