logo
#

Latest news with #BBCTMS

Did Akash Deep dismiss Joe Root on a no-ball? Commentator highlights umpiring blunder
Did Akash Deep dismiss Joe Root on a no-ball? Commentator highlights umpiring blunder

India Today

time6 days ago

  • Sport
  • India Today

Did Akash Deep dismiss Joe Root on a no-ball? Commentator highlights umpiring blunder

England batter Joe Root's dismissal against Akash Deep on Day 4 of the second Test at Edgbaston, Birmingham has sparked a controversy. Deep cleaned up Root with a peach of delivery late in the day as England lost three wickets just before stumps. However, commentator Alison Mitchell revealed that the India seamer may have bowled a no-ball which was overlooked by the pointed out how Deep's backfoot must've crossed the return crease on the side of the stumps and the delivery should've been deemed illegal, giving Root a reprieve. However, the umpires missed it and Root had to return to the pavilion for 6 (16).'The delivery from Akash Deep — which we said was wide off the crease — his foot on the back crease is out. Looks like by about two inches. Maybe a little bit more. But comfortably. So his back foot, which needs to land within the line, just taps about two inches over the line. Not picked up!,' said Mitchell on BBC TMS. According to MCC Laws, the bowler's foot mustn't touch the return crease for the delivery to be deemed vs IND 2nd Test Day 5 Updates'For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride (21.5.1) the bowler's back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery. (21.5.2) the bowler's front foot must land with some part of the foot, whether grounded or raised– on the same side of the imaginary line joining the two middle stumps as the return crease described in 21.5.1, and, – behind the popping crease,' reads the MCC law usually the duty of the third umpire to check for backfoot no-balls. However, Paul Reiffel didn't intervene to check the legality of the delivery, sending Root on his way back to the pavilion. The decision has left the cricketing fraternity divided as former England captain Nasser Hussain also spoke about it during commentary on Day 5 saying it was a marginal call.- EndsMust Watch

'Akash Deep Cheated Joe Root...': Ex-India Selector On Controversial Dismissal During 2nd Test
'Akash Deep Cheated Joe Root...': Ex-India Selector On Controversial Dismissal During 2nd Test

NDTV

time6 days ago

  • Sport
  • NDTV

'Akash Deep Cheated Joe Root...': Ex-India Selector On Controversial Dismissal During 2nd Test

Former BCCI selector Saba Karim said that India fast bowler Akash Deep 'cheated' England batter Joe Root to dismiss him during the second Test encounter. The dismissal sparked a massive controversy after commentators and certain fans were of the opinion that his backfoot was touching the return crease. Former England cricketer Alison Mitchell, while doing commentary on BBC TMS, said: "The delivery from Akash Deep - which we said was wide off the crease - his foot on the back crease is out. Looks like by about two inches. Maybe a little bit more. But comfortably. So his back foot, which needs to land within the line, just taps about two inches over the line. Not picked up!" However, Saba Karim decided to discuss the technical aspect of the dismissal as he said that when a delivery is bowled from the wide of the crease, the batter expects it to angle in. However, the ball from Akash Deep strengthened a bit and that ended up 'cheating' Root. "Akash Deep was talking about feeling cheated by the wicket as it was like an Indian wicket, but here he cheated Joe Root. When you are angling the ball in from wide of the crease, the batter is forced to think that the ball will come in only from that angle," he said on Sony Sports. "If the ball straightens after pitching, what can the batter do? If you bowl such a ball to a great batter, it was definitely an unplayable delivery. Not only Joe Root, but 99.9 percent of the batters would have played like that towards the onside. Joe Root also tried that, and Akash Deep literally opened up Joe Root," Saba observed. What MCC Law 21.5.1 Says: "For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride (21.5.1) the bowler's back foot must land within and not touch the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery. (21.5.2) the bowler's front foot must land with some part of the foot, whether grounded or raised - on the same side of the imaginary line joining the two middle stumps as the return crease described in 21.5.1, and - behind the popping crease."

'Akash Deep Cheated Joe Root...': Ex-India Selector Saba Karim On Controversial Dismissal During 2nd Test
'Akash Deep Cheated Joe Root...': Ex-India Selector Saba Karim On Controversial Dismissal During 2nd Test

NDTV

time7 days ago

  • Sport
  • NDTV

'Akash Deep Cheated Joe Root...': Ex-India Selector Saba Karim On Controversial Dismissal During 2nd Test

Former BCCI selector Saba Karim said that India fast bowler Akash Deep 'cheated' England batter Joe Root to dismiss him during the second Test encounter. The dismissal sparked a massive controversy after commentators and certain fans were of the opinion that his backfoot was touching the return crease. Former England cricketer Alison Mitchell, while doing commentary on BBC TMS, said: "The delivery from Akash Deep - which we said was wide off the crease - his foot on the back crease is out. Looks like by about two inches. Maybe a little bit more. But comfortably. So his back foot, which needs to land within the line, just taps about two inches over the line. Not picked up!" However, Saba Karim decided to discuss the technical aspect of the dismissal as he said that when a delivery is bowled from the wide of the crease, the batter expects it to angle in. However, the ball from Akash Deep strengthened a bit and that ended up 'cheating' Root. "Akash Deep was talking about feeling cheated by the wicket as it was like an Indian wicket, but here he cheated Joe Root. When you are angling the ball in from wide of the crease, the batter is forced to think that the ball will come in only from that angle," he said on Sony Sports. Advertisement "If the ball straightens after pitching, what can the batter do? If you bowl such a ball to a great batter, it was definitely an unplayable delivery. Not only Joe Root, but 99.9 percent of the batters would have played like that towards the onside. Joe Root also tried that, and Akash Deep literally opened up Joe Root," Saba observed. What MCC Law 21.5.1 Says: Advertisement "For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride (21.5.1) the bowler's back foot must land within and not touch the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery. (21.5.2) the bowler's front foot must land with some part of the foot, whether grounded or raised - on the same side of the imaginary line joining the two middle stumps as the return crease described in 21.5.1, and - behind the popping crease."

Akash Deep wins Joe Root controversial dismissal debate; fans hail India pacer for ‘DOTY' at IND vs ENG Edgbaston Test
Akash Deep wins Joe Root controversial dismissal debate; fans hail India pacer for ‘DOTY' at IND vs ENG Edgbaston Test

Mint

time7 days ago

  • Sport
  • Mint

Akash Deep wins Joe Root controversial dismissal debate; fans hail India pacer for ‘DOTY' at IND vs ENG Edgbaston Test

Akash Deep has been the talk of the town ever since he dismissed England's Joe Root with a peach of a delivery on Saturday in the ongoing second Test at Edgbaston in Birmingham. Bowling wide of the crease, Akash Deep pitched the attacking full length delivery that nipped in, beating the outside edge of Root's bat and leading the former England captain's stumps disturbed. Root was dismissed for just six runs. While Akash Deep was hailed by most in the cricket fraternity, Australian cricket commentator Alison Mitchell spiced up the delivery as 'illegal', creating an unnecessary controversy in the process. "The delivery from Akash Deep - which we said was wide off the crease - his foot on the back crease is out. Looks like by about two inches. 'Maybe a little bit more. But comfortably. So his back foot, which needs to land within the line, just taps about two inches over the line. Not picked up!' Mitchell said while commentating for BBC TMS. However, Mitchell's logic was simply quashed with an explanation from former India cricketer Irfan Pathan, who detailed why Akash Deep's delivery that dismissed Root was completely legal. With a frame-by-frame explanation, Pathan explained that since Akash Deep's point of contact was inside the return crease, hence it was deemed legal by the umpires. Had Akash Deep's back-foot landed on the line or outside the return crease, it would have been a definite no-ball. While the Bengal pacer is fighting for his country in the United Kingdom, fans hailed Akash Deep, calling it a Delivery of the Year (DOTY).

IND vs ENG 2nd Test: Did Akash Deep dismiss Joe Root off a no-ball? What does rules of cricket say? Explained
IND vs ENG 2nd Test: Did Akash Deep dismiss Joe Root off a no-ball? What does rules of cricket say? Explained

Mint

time7 days ago

  • Sport
  • Mint

IND vs ENG 2nd Test: Did Akash Deep dismiss Joe Root off a no-ball? What does rules of cricket say? Explained

The delivery from Akash Deep to dismiss Joe Root in the second innings of the second Test at Edgbaston on Saturday has been the most talked-about topic during the ongoing series between India and England. Replacing Jasprit Bumrah (rested due to workload management) in the playing XI, Akash Deep didn't let the team fill the void of his senior with six wickets so far in the game with a day to go. Coming in after the dismissal of Ben Duckett, Root's stay at the crease lasted only 16 balls before he was undone by an unplayable delivery from Akash Deep in the 11th over of the England's second innings. While Akash Deep received plaudits for what he had done in Birmingham, Australian cricket commentator Alison Mitchell's observations on the delivery has created a controversy. Representing BBC TMS for this Test match, Mitchell observed that the delivery with which Akash Deep dismissed Root was indeed a no-ball - a back-foot no-ball. 'The delivery from Akash Deep — which we said was wide off the crease - his foot on the back crease is out. "Looks like by about two inches. Maybe a little bit more. But comfortably. So his back foot, which needs to land within the line, just taps about two inches over the line. Not picked up!' " Mitchell said. While Akash Deep's foot was well behind the popping crease, his back foot appeared to be crossing the return crease on his delivery stride. But at the time of releasing the ball, his backfoot was well inside the return crease, something that deemed the delivery legal. Even former India coach Ravi Shastri also confirmed the ball was legal. As things stand, England are 72/3 in 16 overs in the second innings, still needing 536 runs to win the Test match and take a lead of 2-0 in the five-match series. The highlight of the match so far undoubtedly has been Indian captain Shubman Gill, who scored 269 and 161. Based on MCC's laws of cricket, (law 21.5), 'For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride (21.5.1) the bowler's back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery. (21.5.2) the bowler's front foot must land with some part of the foot, whether grounded or raised – on the same side of the imaginary line joining the two middle stumps as the return crease described in 21.5.1, and – behind the popping crease.'

DOWNLOAD THE APP

Get Started Now: Download the App

Ready to dive into a world of global content with local flavor? Download Daily8 app today from your preferred app store and start exploring.
app-storeplay-store