logo
#

Latest news with #MCCLaw

'Akash Deep Cheated Joe Root...': Ex-India Selector Saba Karim On Controversial Dismissal During 2nd Test
'Akash Deep Cheated Joe Root...': Ex-India Selector Saba Karim On Controversial Dismissal During 2nd Test

NDTV

time06-07-2025

  • Sport
  • NDTV

'Akash Deep Cheated Joe Root...': Ex-India Selector Saba Karim On Controversial Dismissal During 2nd Test

Former BCCI selector Saba Karim said that India fast bowler Akash Deep 'cheated' England batter Joe Root to dismiss him during the second Test encounter. The dismissal sparked a massive controversy after commentators and certain fans were of the opinion that his backfoot was touching the return crease. Former England cricketer Alison Mitchell, while doing commentary on BBC TMS, said: "The delivery from Akash Deep - which we said was wide off the crease - his foot on the back crease is out. Looks like by about two inches. Maybe a little bit more. But comfortably. So his back foot, which needs to land within the line, just taps about two inches over the line. Not picked up!" However, Saba Karim decided to discuss the technical aspect of the dismissal as he said that when a delivery is bowled from the wide of the crease, the batter expects it to angle in. However, the ball from Akash Deep strengthened a bit and that ended up 'cheating' Root. "Akash Deep was talking about feeling cheated by the wicket as it was like an Indian wicket, but here he cheated Joe Root. When you are angling the ball in from wide of the crease, the batter is forced to think that the ball will come in only from that angle," he said on Sony Sports. Advertisement "If the ball straightens after pitching, what can the batter do? If you bowl such a ball to a great batter, it was definitely an unplayable delivery. Not only Joe Root, but 99.9 percent of the batters would have played like that towards the onside. Joe Root also tried that, and Akash Deep literally opened up Joe Root," Saba observed. What MCC Law 21.5.1 Says: Advertisement "For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride (21.5.1) the bowler's back foot must land within and not touch the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery. (21.5.2) the bowler's front foot must land with some part of the foot, whether grounded or raised - on the same side of the imaginary line joining the two middle stumps as the return crease described in 21.5.1, and - behind the popping crease."

India get 5 extra runs without doing anything; Joe Root can't believe it as England penalised in first Test
India get 5 extra runs without doing anything; Joe Root can't believe it as England penalised in first Test

Hindustan Times

time20-06-2025

  • Sport
  • Hindustan Times

India get 5 extra runs without doing anything; Joe Root can't believe it as England penalised in first Test

Nothing is going right for Ben Stokes-led England on Day 1 of the first Test against India at Headingley, Leeds. The situation continues to go from bad to worse as Yashasvi Jaiswal and Shubman Gill are proving how Stokes made the wrong call of bowling first on a batting-friendly track. The left-handed Jaiswal smashed his fifth century in Tests as he made a mockery of England's bowling in the first two sessions. India vs. England, 1st Test: Joe Root couldn't believe it as India were awarded five extra runs after England was penalised. (Action Images via Reuters) To make matters worse for the hosts, just minutes before the stoppage for tea on Day 1, England were penalised and hence India were awarded five runs. As soon as the hosts were found guilty, Joe Root couldn't believe what had just happened. Even skipper Ben Stokes sported a perplexed look. The incident happened on the fifth ball of the 51st over off the bowling of Stokes. Jaiswal edged the delivery, but it fell short of the second slip fielder Harry Brook. However, he ended up parrying it onto the helmets stashed behind the keeper Jamie Smith. As soon as the ball hit the helmet, Joe Root couldn't believe India were handed five penalty runs owing to a mistake by Brook. This ended up making matters worse for the hosts, who are already being hit around the park by Jaiswal and Gill. Also Read: IND vs ENG LIVE Score: Yashasvi Jaiswal battles pain to bring up glorious century When the incident unfolded, there was confusion all around as the on-field umpires deliberated upon how many runs India got as they were seen checking if the batters ran for a single as well. However, in the end, it was concluded that Jaiswal and Gill did not run along. Hence, the visitors got only five penalty runs. Also Read: Yashasvi Jaiswal starts ENG tour with sublime century, dressing room erupts According to MCC Law 28.3.2, if the ball strikes the protective helmet while in play, it shall immediately become dead, and the umpire shall award five penalty runs to the batting side. Alastair Cook criticises Stokes' decision As India continue to pile on the runs, former England captain Alastair Cook criticised Stokes' decision to bowl first in Headingley. Speaking to BBC Test Match Special, Cook said, 'The fact it's so hot… If you bowl first and don't bowl them out, you're bowling all day. England are guaranteed to bowl all day, and probably a bit tomorrow, looking at the conditions, unless India don't bat as well as they've started.' 'Therefore, you're backing up. Say India bat 120 overs. They only have to bowl for two sessions (on day two). You feel like you can control the game more if you bat first,' he added. Earlier, Jaiswal and KL Rahul put on 91 runs for the opening wicket. England bounced back with quick strikes of Rahul (42) and Sai Sudharsan (0). However, Gill and Jaiswal once again put India ahead in the contest.

Why was Jitesh Sharma not out after Digvesh Rathi's Mankad attempt? All rules explained
Why was Jitesh Sharma not out after Digvesh Rathi's Mankad attempt? All rules explained

Mint

time28-05-2025

  • Sport
  • Mint

Why was Jitesh Sharma not out after Digvesh Rathi's Mankad attempt? All rules explained

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) beat Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) by six wickets in a nail-biting thriller on Tuesday (May 27). In the match dramatic came into the spotlight when LSG spinner Digvesh Rathi tried to run out RCB's stand-in captain Jitesh Sharma at the non-striker's end. Replays showed Jitesh was out of his crease, but the third umpire ruled him not out. Here's a detailed explainer on why Jitesh didn't lose his wicket. RCB was chasing a massive total of 228 runs in the crucial game. During the final delivery of the 17th over, with the team chasing a big target of 228 runs, Digvesh Rathi noticed Jitesh Sharma stepping out of his crease at the non-striker's end. Rathi quickly removed the bails, attempting a Mankad run-out. The umpire confirmed whether the bowler wanted to appeal, the 25-year-old agreed and the decision went straight to the third umpire. Even though replays confirmed Jitesh was clearly outside the crease, the third umpire declared Jitesh not out. Meanwhile, LSG captain Rishabh Pant withdrew the appeal in a heartwarming gesture. It was followed by Jitesh and Pant sharing a hug. Jitesh Sharma didn't lose his wicket due to a specific MCC rule about non-striker run-outs. Even though Jitesh was out of his crease, Rathi had already completed his bowling action. This means his arm had passed the point where he would normally release the ball. According to MCC Law 38.3, a bowler can only run out a non-striker before reaching this point in their delivery swing. Since Rathi acted too late, the third umpire ruled Jitesh not out, stating, 'The bowler has completed his action.' The MCC (Marylebone Cricket Club), which sets cricket's rules, updated the non-striker run-out law in 2022 to make things fair and clear. Here's the rule in simple terms: MCC Law 38.3.1: A non-striker can be run out - from when the ball is in play until the moment the bowler's arm reaches the highest point in their normal bowling action (when they would usually release the ball). MCC Law 38.3.1.1: The bowler can break the stumps with the ball (by throwing or holding it) to run out the non-striker if they are out of their ground before this point. MCC Law 38.3.1.2: Once the bowler's arm passes the highest point of their bowling action, they can't run out the non-striker, even if the batter is out of their crease. In short, Rathi missed the legal window to run out Jitesh because he had already finished his bowling swing when he removed the bails. The MCC updated the non-striker run-out rule in 2022 to stop debates about whether Mankading is 'fair' or against the 'spirit of cricket.' The rule clearly states that bowlers can only run out non-strikers who leave their crease too early before the delivery is complete. This protects batters like Jitesh while keeping the game competitive. Rishabh Pant's decision to withdraw the appeal showcased his sportsmanship spirit. However, it had no impact on the outcome. The third umpire's ruling was based on Rathi's completed bowling action, not Pant's gesture. Even if Pant had pressed for the run-out, Jitesh would have remained not out. However, if Digvesh Rathi's Mankad attempt were successful, then Pant's withdrawal appeal would have been valid. According to the rules, a skipper's appeal for withdrawal of Mankad by the bowler will be taken into consideration before the next fair delivery is bowled. In either case, Jitesh would have remained not out. Jitesh's survival was crucial for RCB, who were chasing a massive target of 228 runs and aiming to make their way to the Qualifier 1. Jitesh who was in explosive form, played a match-winning knock and powered his team to victory, backed by Mayank Agarwal's aggressive batting. The Mankad instance added drama to an already thrilling match.

DOWNLOAD THE APP

Get Started Now: Download the App

Ready to dive into a world of global content with local flavor? Download Daily8 app today from your preferred app store and start exploring.
app-storeplay-store