logo
#

Latest news with #MCCLaw21.5.1

'Akash Deep Cheated Joe Root...': Ex-India Selector On Controversial Dismissal During 2nd Test
'Akash Deep Cheated Joe Root...': Ex-India Selector On Controversial Dismissal During 2nd Test

NDTV

time14 hours ago

  • Sport
  • NDTV

'Akash Deep Cheated Joe Root...': Ex-India Selector On Controversial Dismissal During 2nd Test

Former BCCI selector Saba Karim said that India fast bowler Akash Deep 'cheated' England batter Joe Root to dismiss him during the second Test encounter. The dismissal sparked a massive controversy after commentators and certain fans were of the opinion that his backfoot was touching the return crease. Former England cricketer Alison Mitchell, while doing commentary on BBC TMS, said: "The delivery from Akash Deep - which we said was wide off the crease - his foot on the back crease is out. Looks like by about two inches. Maybe a little bit more. But comfortably. So his back foot, which needs to land within the line, just taps about two inches over the line. Not picked up!" However, Saba Karim decided to discuss the technical aspect of the dismissal as he said that when a delivery is bowled from the wide of the crease, the batter expects it to angle in. However, the ball from Akash Deep strengthened a bit and that ended up 'cheating' Root. "Akash Deep was talking about feeling cheated by the wicket as it was like an Indian wicket, but here he cheated Joe Root. When you are angling the ball in from wide of the crease, the batter is forced to think that the ball will come in only from that angle," he said on Sony Sports. "If the ball straightens after pitching, what can the batter do? If you bowl such a ball to a great batter, it was definitely an unplayable delivery. Not only Joe Root, but 99.9 percent of the batters would have played like that towards the onside. Joe Root also tried that, and Akash Deep literally opened up Joe Root," Saba observed. What MCC Law 21.5.1 Says: "For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride (21.5.1) the bowler's back foot must land within and not touch the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery. (21.5.2) the bowler's front foot must land with some part of the foot, whether grounded or raised - on the same side of the imaginary line joining the two middle stumps as the return crease described in 21.5.1, and - behind the popping crease."

Was Joe Root Bowled Off No-Ball? Akash Deep's Dream Delivery Sparks Controversy In Edgbaston Test
Was Joe Root Bowled Off No-Ball? Akash Deep's Dream Delivery Sparks Controversy In Edgbaston Test

India.com

time20 hours ago

  • Sport
  • India.com

Was Joe Root Bowled Off No-Ball? Akash Deep's Dream Delivery Sparks Controversy In Edgbaston Test

IND vs ENG: India's young pacer Akash Deep made headlines on Day 4 of the second Test against England at Edgbaston, not only for his brilliant bowling display but also due to a controversial dismissal of star batter Joe Root. With England reeling at 72/3 at stumps while chasing an improbable 608, Akash was responsible for two of the three wickets including that of Root both bowled with searing deliveries. Akash Stuns Root With A Dream Delivery The moment of the day came when Akash Deep uprooted Joe Root's stumps with a stunning in-dipper that left fans and experts in awe. Root, a master against spin and pace alike, misjudged the sharp movement and saw his off-stump cartwheeling, leaving England in deep trouble. This was a massive blow to England's slim hopes of survival, and the delivery was hailed instantly on social media as one of the balls of the match. Controversy Over No-Ball Sparks Debate Shortly after Root's dismissal, a section of commentators and fans raised concerns over Akash's delivery being potentially illegal. Former England cricketer Alison Mitchell, while commentating on BBC Test Match Special, suggested that Akash's back foot had landed outside the return crease a violation under MCC Law 21.5.1, which states that the bowler's back foot must not touch or cross the return crease. 'It looks like his back foot just taps over the line by about two inches,' Mitchell said. However, the on-field umpires did not call a no-ball, and Root was given out. What the Laws Say According to MCC Law 21.5: 21.5.1: The bowler's back foot must land within and not touch the return crease. 21.5.2: The front foot must land behind the popping crease with some part behind the line. By this rule, if Akash's back foot did touch or cross the return crease, it should have been deemed a no-ball. Ravi Shastri Defends the Call Former India head coach Ravi Shastri, who was in the commentary box, defended Akash, saying his foot landed 'inside the return crease,' and thus the delivery was fair. 'The umpires have the best view, and if it wasn't picked up, it wasn't too obvious. To the naked eye, it looked fine,' Shastri said. Root's Poor Run Continues Joe Root's form remained underwhelming in the Edgbaston Test. He scored just 22 in the first innings and fell for only 6 in the second, unable to counter Akash's late movement. With England already three down and facing a steep chase, Root's early dismissal compounded the pressure on the hosts. Regardless of the debate, Akash Deep's delivery to Root will be remembered as one of the finest moments of the series. As the discussion over legality lingers, the young Indian pacer's impact in his comeback Test has been undeniable. With Jasprit Bumrah rested, Akash's performance has been a major boost for India's bowling attack. India now need 7 more wickets on Day 5 to secure a historic win at Edgbaston and Akash Deep could play a key role in finishing the job.

Video: Akash Deep's Dismissal Of Joe Root Called 'Illegal', Triggers Huge Row
Video: Akash Deep's Dismissal Of Joe Root Called 'Illegal', Triggers Huge Row

NDTV

time21 hours ago

  • Sport
  • NDTV

Video: Akash Deep's Dismissal Of Joe Root Called 'Illegal', Triggers Huge Row

India pacer Akash Deep, who came into the team after the management's decision to rest Jasprit Bumrah, produced some absolute rippers in the second innings of the Edgbaston Test. As England lost three wickets for the score of 72 runs at stumps on Day 4, Akash was credited with two of the three dismissals that took place. In fact, both the scalps that Akash took were bowled, with his peach of a delivery to Joe Root leaving the cricket world stunned. It isn't often that a batter of Joe Roo's class gets undone by a pacer. But, the England veteran completely failed to play the incoming delivery from Akash. However, a bit of a controversy was triggered after the dismissal took place. Though the umpire ruled Root out, commentators and certain fans on social media have called Akash's delivery 'illegal', suggesting it Former England cricketer Alison Mitchell, while doing commentary on BBC TMS, said: "The delivery from Akash Deep - which we said was wide off the crease - his foot on the back crease is out. Looks like by about two inches. Maybe a little bit more. But comfortably. So his back foot, which needs to land within the line, just taps about two inches over the line. Not picked up!" While Akash's foot was definitely inside the popping crease, he has been accused of touching the return crease with his backfoot. A section of fans, hence, are upset with the officials for not catching the incident. Akash deep crashes through joe root's defense #AkashDeep #INDvsENG #BCCI — Samaresh maity (@Samares66435304) July 5, 2025 What MCC Law 21.5.1 Says: "For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride (21.5.1) the bowler's back foot must land within and not touch the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery. (21.5.2) the bowler's front foot must land with some part of the foot, whether grounded or raised - on the same side of the imaginary line joining the two middle stumps as the return crease described in 21.5.1, and - behind the popping crease." Former India coach Ravi Shastri, who was also in the commentary box, suggested that since Akash's foot landed inside the return crease, the delivery was a fair one. Root had a forgettable outing in the Birmingham Test. In the first innings, he faced 46 balls and added just 22 runs to the team's total. In the second innings, he could only add 6 runs.

Akash Deep's Dismissal Of Joe Root Triggers 'No Ball Controversy', Here's What Rule Says
Akash Deep's Dismissal Of Joe Root Triggers 'No Ball Controversy', Here's What Rule Says

NDTV

time21 hours ago

  • Sport
  • NDTV

Akash Deep's Dismissal Of Joe Root Triggers 'No Ball Controversy', Here's What Rule Says

India pacer Akash Deep, who came into the team after the management's decision to rest Jasprit Bumrah, produced some absolute rippers in the second innings of the Edgbaston Test. As England lost three wickets for the score of 72 runs at stumps on Day 4, Akash was credited with two of the three dismissals that took place. In fact, both the scalps that Akash took were bowled, with his peach of a delivery to Joe Root leaving the cricket world stunned. It isn't often that a batter of Joe Roo's class gets undone by a pacer. But, the England veteran completely failed to play the incoming delivery from Akash. However, a bit of a controversy was triggered after the dismissal took place. Though the umpire ruled Root out, commentators and certain fans on social media have called Akash's delivery 'illegal', suggesting it Former England cricketer Alison Mitchell, while doing commentary on BBC TMS, said: "The delivery from Akash Deep - which we said was wide off the crease - his foot on the back crease is out. Looks like by about two inches. Maybe a little bit more. But comfortably. So his back foot, which needs to land within the line, just taps about two inches over the line. Not picked up!" While Akash's foot was definitely inside the popping crease, he has been accused of touching the return crease with his backfoot. A section of fans, hence, are upset with the officials for not catching the incident. Akash deep crashes through joe root's defense #AkashDeep #INDvsENG #BCCI — Samaresh maity (@Samares66435304) July 5, 2025 What MCC Law 21.5.1 Says: "For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride (21.5.1) the bowler's back foot must land within and not touch the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery. (21.5.2) the bowler's front foot must land with some part of the foot, whether grounded or raised - on the same side of the imaginary line joining the two middle stumps as the return crease described in 21.5.1, and - behind the popping crease." Former India coach Ravi Shastri, who was also in the commentary box, suggested that since Akash's foot landed inside the return crease, the delivery was a fair one. Root had a forgettable outing in the Birmingham Test. In the first innings, he faced 46 balls and added just 22 runs to the team's total. In the second innings, he could only add 6 runs.

DOWNLOAD THE APP

Get Started Now: Download the App

Ready to dive into a world of global content with local flavor? Download Daily8 app today from your preferred app store and start exploring.
app-storeplay-store