Latest news with #TammyBeaumont


NDTV
4 days ago
- Sport
- NDTV
'Obstructing The Field' Controversy Strikes India vs England Women's ODI. Here's What Happened
The second women's ODI between India and England created a bit of controversy after India's appeal of obstruction in field was turned down. Playing at the iconic Lord's in London, the match was reduced to 29 overs-per side due to rain. India struggled to get going on a damp pitch. They managed just 143/8 in their allotted overs. England were close to chasing the target, but rain poured down again, and the target was reduced to 115 in 24 overs. They then chased the target in 21 overs and won the match by eight wickets. During the fourth over of England's chase, Tammy Beaumont played a shot off Deepti Sharma and ran for a single. The ball went towards Jemimah Rodrigues, who was placed at the mid-wicket and she threw it towards wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh. As Richa was about to get the ball, it hit on the leg of Tammy, who was coming inside the crease. The Indian team quickly appealed for obstruction in field as the on-field umpires quickly opted for the third umpire's decision. After checking few replays, Tammy was declared not out, leaving Team India disappointed. Law 37.1 in MCC's law book states, "Either batter is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of 37.2, and while the ball is in play, he/she wilfully attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding side by word or action." 37.1.2 states, "The striker is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of 37.2, in the act of receiving a ball delivered by the bowler, he/she wilfully strikes the ball with a hand not holding the bat. This will apply whether it is the first strike or a second or subsequent strike. The act of receiving the ball shall extend both to playing at the ball and to striking the ball more than once in defence of his/her wicket." Coming to the match, openers Amy Jones and Tammy Beaumont gave England a strong start, putting together a 54-run stand in just over 10 overs. Beaumont looked fluent during her 34 off 35 balls, which included five boundaries, before falling to Sneh Rana. Jones, however, remained calm and unbeaten, anchoring the innings with a steady 46, while Sophia Dunkley supported her with a run-a-ball 9 not out. Captain Nat Sciver -Brunt also chipped in with 21 before being bowled by Kranti Goud, who along with Rana were the only wicket-takers for India. Apart from them, the Indian bowlers failed to make much of an impact as England cruised to 116/2 in just 21 overs.


India Today
4 days ago
- Sport
- India Today
Why was Tammy Beaumont not given out Obstructing the Field in Lord's ODI: Explained
Tammy Beaumont was involved in a controversial moment during the second Women's ODI between India and England on Saturday, July 19, at Lord's. In the fifth over of England's run chase, Deepti Sharma bowled around the off stump, and Beaumont clipped the ball to mid-wicket, where Jemimah Rodrigues was reacted quickly, firing a sharp throw toward the striker's end. As the ball deflected off Beaumont's pad, she appeared to already be within her crease, moving her right leg forward. Though the throw didn't hit the stumps, wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh appealed for an Obstructing the Field VS IND-W 2ND ODI HIGHLIGHTS On-field umpires Rob White and Anna Harris conferred before referring the decision to the third umpire. After a close review, Jacqueline Williams ruled Beaumont not out, determining she was simply attempting to regain her the time, Beaumont was on 25 off 17 balls. She went on to score 34 from 35 deliveries, hitting five fours, before falling to Sneh Rana. England ultimately won the rain-curtailed match by eight wickets, chasing down 115 in just 21 overs to level the three-match series was Beaumont truly in the clear, or did she get a lucky break?Here's the MCC law on Obstructing the Field37.1 Out Obstructing the field37.1.1 Either batter is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of 37.2, and while the ball is in play, he/she wilfully attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding side by word or action. See also Law 34 (Hit the ball twice).37.1.2 The striker is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of 37.2, in the act of receiving a ball delivered by the bowler, he/she wilfully strikes the ball with a hand not holding the bat. This will apply whether it is the first strike or a second or subsequent strike. The act of receiving the ball shall extend both to playing at the ball and to striking the ball more than once in defence of his/her wicket.37.1.3 This Law will apply whether or not No ball is called.37.2 Not out Obstructing the fieldA batter shall not be out Obstructing the field if the obstruction or distraction is accidental,or the obstruction is in order to avoid injury,or in the case of the striker, he/she makes a second or subsequent strike to guard his/her wicket lawfully as in Law 34.3 (Ball lawfully struck more than once).- Ends


Time of India
5 days ago
- Sport
- Time of India
Out or Not Out? Tammy Beaumont's close call vs India: What the rules say
Tammy Beaumont vs India (Image via X/Screengrab) Controversy unfolded at Lord's during the second Women's ODI between India and England, that tipped in the hosts' favour this time around following a win for India in the 1st. In the fifth over of England's innings, Deepti Sharma bowled a fuller delivery to Tammy Beaumont . The English opener drove it towards Jemimah Rodrigues at short midwicket. Rodrigues dove to her right, stopped the ball, and threw it back towards wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh. Beaumont, whocut short her run after opting against a quick single, was walking back to the crease. After placing her left foot inside the crease, with her right leg, she appeared to attempt kicking the ball away. Though she didn't make contact, it appeared that she had tried to stop the ball with her foot before it reached Ghosh. The visitors appealed without fail, gesturing to the umpires that Beaumont had tried to interfere with the throw. The umpires had a long discussion and opted for a review. After watching a few replays, the third umpire decided Beaumont was not out. However, according to the laws, there is no exemption that protects a batter from being given out for Obstructing the Field even if they are back inside the crease. The ball was still in play at the time, which is clear from the fact that it was moving towards the India wicketkeeper. by Taboola by Taboola Sponsored Links Sponsored Links Promoted Links Promoted Links You May Like An engineer reveals: One simple trick to get internet without a subscription Techno Mag Learn More Undo 37 OBSTRUCTING THE FIELD 37.1 Out Obstructing the field 37.1.1 Either batter is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of clause 37.2, and while the ball is in play, she wilfully attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding side by word or action. See also clause 34 (Hit the ball twice). 37.1.2 The striker is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of clause 37.2, in the act of receiving a ball delivered by the bowler, she wilfully strikes the ball with a hand not holding the bat. This will apply whether it is the first strike or a second or subsequent strike. The act of receiving the ball shall extend both to playing at the ball and to striking the ball more than once in defence of her wicket. 37.1.3 This clause will apply whether or not No ball is called. 37.1.4 For the avoidance of doubt, if an umpire feels that a batter, in running between the wickets, has significantly changed her direction without probable cause and thereby obstructed a fielder's attempt to effect a run out, the batter should, on appeal, be given out, obstructing the field. It shall not be relevant whether a run out would have occurred or not. If the change of direction involves the batter crossing the pitch, clause 41.14 shall also apply. Additionally, it has been mentioned in another clause that the batter will not be out if they Obstruct the field accidentally, to avoid injury or in the case of a second/subsequent strike made to guard the wicket lawfully (for a striker). However, the not out decision didn't hurt India much in terms of runs conceded, given that Beaumont was batting on 25 off 16 balls at the time and was later dismissed for 34 off 35 by Sneh Rana in the 11th over. Poll Should Tammy Beaumont have been given out for obstructing the field? Yes, she attempted to interfere with the throw. No, she was already inside the crease. England level series after rain-hit win In the match itself, England bounced back to win the second ODI by eight wickets in a rain-shortened game at Lord's. Chasing a revised target of 115, opener Amy Jones guided the hosts home with an unbeaten 46, helping them level the three-match series 1-1. India, who had successfully chased down 259 in the first ODI, struggled with the bat this time. They managed only 143/8 in the 29-overs-per-side match, with Smriti Mandhana top-scoring with 42. Catch Rani Rampal's inspiring story on Game On, Episode 4. Watch Here!


Time of India
5 days ago
- Sport
- Time of India
Out or Not Out? Tammy Beaumont's controversial dismissal vs India: What the rules say
Tammy Beaumont vs India (Image via X/Screengrab) Controversy unfolded at Lord's during the second Women's ODI between India and England, that tipped in the hosts' favour this time around following a win for India in the 1st. In the fifth over of England's innings, Deepti Sharma bowled a fuller delivery to Tammy Beaumont . The English opener drove it towards Jemimah Rodrigues at short midwicket. Rodrigues dove to her right, stopped the ball, and threw it back towards wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh. Beaumont, whocut short her run after opting against a quick single, was walking back to the crease. After placing her left foot inside the crease, with her right leg, she appeared to attempt kicking the ball away. Though she didn't make contact, it appeared that she had tried to stop the ball with her foot before it reached Ghosh. The visitors appealed without fail, gesturing to the umpires that Beaumont had tried to interfere with the throw. The umpires had a long discussion and opted for a review. After watching a few replays, the third umpire decided Beaumont was not out. However, according to the laws, there is no exemption that protects a batter from being given out for Obstructing the Field even if they are back inside the crease. The ball was still in play at the time, which is clear from the fact that it was moving towards the India wicketkeeper. 37 OBSTRUCTING THE FIELD 37.1 Out Obstructing the field 37.1.1 Either batter is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of clause 37.2, and while the ball is in play, she wilfully attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding side by word or action. See also clause 34 (Hit the ball twice). 37.1.2 The striker is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of clause 37.2, in the act of receiving a ball delivered by the bowler, she wilfully strikes the ball with a hand not holding the bat. This will apply whether it is the first strike or a second or subsequent strike. The act of receiving the ball shall extend both to playing at the ball and to striking the ball more than once in defence of her wicket. 37.1.3 This clause will apply whether or not No ball is called. 37.1.4 For the avoidance of doubt, if an umpire feels that a batter, in running between the wickets, has significantly changed her direction without probable cause and thereby obstructed a fielder's attempt to effect a run out, the batter should, on appeal, be given out, obstructing the field. It shall not be relevant whether a run out would have occurred or not. If the change of direction involves the batter crossing the pitch, clause 41.14 shall also apply. Additionally, it has been mentioned in another clause that the batter will not be out if they Obstruct the field accidentally, to avoid injury or in the case of a second/subsequent strike made to guard the wicket lawfully (for a striker). However, the not out decision didn't hurt India much in terms of runs conceded, given that Beaumont was batting on 25 off 16 balls at the time and was later dismissed for 34 off 35 by Sneh Rana in the 11th over. Poll Should Tammy Beaumont have been given out for obstructing the field? Yes, she attempted to interfere with the throw. No, she was already inside the crease. England level series after rain-hit win In the match itself, England bounced back to win the second ODI by eight wickets in a rain-shortened game at Lord's. Chasing a revised target of 115, opener Amy Jones guided the hosts home with an unbeaten 46, helping them level the three-match series 1-1. India, who had successfully chased down 259 in the first ODI, struggled with the bat this time. They managed only 143/8 in the 29-overs-per-side match, with Smriti Mandhana top-scoring with 42. Catch Rani Rampal's inspiring story on Game On, Episode 4. Watch Here!


News18
5 days ago
- Sport
- News18
Tammy Beaumont Courts Ire Over Attempt At 'Field Obstruction' In England's Win Over India
Last Updated: Beaumont tried to boot the ball, which did not sit well with the fielding unit, during the second ODI between England and India at the Lord's. English batter Tammy Beaumont ruffled some feathers with her attempt at a field obstruction during the game against Indian at the Lord's on Saturday. England posted an 8-wicket win in the game as the hosts completed the victory with 18 deliveries left to spare, according to the DLS method in the truncated game. Should Tammy Beaumont have been given out for obstructing the field? 👀 — Sky Sports Cricket (@SkyCricket) July 19, 2025 In the fifth over of the chase, Deepti Sharma's turner was pushed towards Jemimah Rodrigues at mid-wicket. The Indian fielder collected the ball swiftly to stop a quick single and released it to the keeper, Richa Ghosh. However, before the ball could reach the keeper, Beaumont looked to try to boot the ball, which did not sit well with the fielding unit. Beaumont's attempt at a kick missed the mark, and there was no chance of a runout, but the travelling side were less than pleased with the batter's antics. Team India posted a total of 143 runs for the loss of 8 wickets in 29 overs as Smriti Mandana topped the scoring charts with her 42-run knock. Deepti chipped in with a sizeable 30-run contribution. Amy Jones led the English chase with her unbeaten 46-run knock as the opener remained unbeaten. Beaumont, who added 34 runs to her side's cause was scalped by Sneh Rana as the Indian trapped the Englishwoman plumb in front of the wicket. Nat Sciver-Brunt added 21 runs off 25 deliveries before Kranti Goud castled the English all-rounder. Sophia Dunkley remained unbeatean alongside Jones to close out the chase in 21 overs in the rain-hit game. The three-game series stands level at 1-1 at the conclusion of two games with the decider set to be played on the 22nd of July at the Riverside Ground view comments First Published: July 20, 2025, 07:59 IST Disclaimer: Comments reflect users' views, not News18's. Please keep discussions respectful and constructive. Abusive, defamatory, or illegal comments will be removed. News18 may disable any comment at its discretion. By posting, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.